My Top 10 Toddler Toys!

I am a big fan of toys that don’t have a ton of bells and whistles.  I like to encourage exploration with toys that have basic movements and that are age appropriate.  My little guy is currently 20 mos old and the toys I’ve listed here are both his favorites and mine!   So, here they are…my Top 10 Toddler Toys!

  1. Melissa & Doug Pound and Roll Tower: this toy has longevity!  It was a gift from friends for Julian’s 1st birthday and has stood the test of time.  It’s still one of his favorites.  (note: we have never used the “hammer” for pounding…I found it’s just as fun for him to press the balls down with his hands, and safer too)
  2. IKEA Train Set: this basic model from IKEA has 4 train “cars” that can attach magnetically or be used independently.  The track can be figured in a variety of ways and includes one “hill.”  We love this affordable and simple set!
  3. Munchkin Magic Mozart Cube: this one has also been a favorite since the early days.  We bought this when Julian was just 6 months old and it remains one of his top picks.  the big buttons are a large target for little hands and the music is easy on my ears.
  4. Harmonica: this is new addition and a crowd favorite.  It’s simple for him to make music because sounds come out on the inhale and exhale and we love to hear him rock out 🙂
  5. Ping Pong Balls: my dad bought a set of these over the holidays as a safe and damage free alternative to other balls.  Julian can throw them anywhere in the house and no one bats an eye.
  6. Green Toys My First Stacker: another one you’ll get some mileage out of…we got these in the first half of the year as well and they’re still going strong.  They stack in a variety of ways, are BPA and phthalate free, and are even great in the bath as they have tiny holes that allow the water to drain through.
  7. Stacking Cups: these were  a gift and I cannot remember what brand they are, but there are a ton of options with these.  They are nesting cups that have endless options and holes so they are also fantastic bath toys for month and months to come.
  8. Baby Einstein Take Along Tunes: ok, so this one does have bells and whistles (well, music and lights), but it has been a great go-to toy in the early months when nothing else seemed to satisfy and continues to be a fantastic car toy.  Everybody seems to have this one, I guess I now know why!
  9. MEGA Bloks: these are the larger, more toddler-friendly version of Legos.  They are chunkier and fit together and pull apart easily.  Our set was a 1-year-old birthday gift that came with a wagon (also a great toy for tots).  Fill and dump, fill and dump, build, and repeat!
  10. Kitchen Spice Bottles: I couldn’t end the list without including a FREE toy that everyone has around the house 🙂  Like most moms, I spend a great deal of time in the kitchen, therefore I have kept my low cabinets baby-friendly.  It has been a favorite pastime of my son to open the spice cabinet and pull out the bottles (caps screwed tightly on, moms!).  He stacks them high (with supervision), moves them to the floor, back to the cabinet, and into various other places with a great deal of attention and concentration.  They are a true lifesaver and, I’ll mention it again, FREE!
Leave a Reply

