My New Favorite Beer!

For my husband’s birthday a couple of years ago I surprised him with a beer-making class.  We and about 6 of our friends learned about the process from start to finish and then got to sample beers from some of the more advanced homebrewers.  On that night I had my first taste of Saison, and I have been taken with it ever since!  Saison is a French farmhouse style ale, brewed originally in the cold months in Belgium to be drunk in the warm, summer months.  If you imagine a rustic french farmhouse field of hay, flowers and fruits, that’s pretty much what you get.  Ranging from gold to amber hues, it’s complex – both earthy and refreshing, with spices, fruits and even a floral quality.  It’s one of my all-time favorites and, luckily, it’s been popping up on menus more and more!

One thought on “My New Favorite Beer!

Leave a Reply

