A Penny Saved…the truth about pharmaceuticals

My doctor recently prescribed some supplements to “optimize” my health and keep this busy mom on track.  As I picked up my prescription I was shocked at the cost of my vitamins!  I had a few lengthy discussions with my pharmacist that were so enlightening, I wanted to share them with all of you.  Here are some tips to keep your costs down:

1. Call your insurance company and inquire about similar formulations/brands that may  have a lower cost, then call your doctor to see if s/he approves of the different brand/formulation

2. If your supplement has a dual component, ask your doctor if you could purchase the components separately (or even OTC)…It’s counterintuitive, but sometimes the bundling of supplements by a manufacturer can actually cost you more money (a lot more money!!

3. Inquire with your pharmacist about discounts associated with a multi-month supply.  You may be able to save 10-30% or more by ordering 3+ months at once!

After consulting with my insurance provider, pharmacist, and doctor, and applying these strategies I saved nearly 75% of the original cost!

[Note: I am not a health care provider, pharmacist or other health or dietary professional! Please check with your doctor and pharmacist for all questions related to your health.]

Leave a Reply

