The thrill of the trade

I am not a fan of wastefulness.  I don’t like wasting food, wasting resources, and I definitely don’t like wasting money.  That’s why it was such a disappointment that the awesome, perfect laptop bag we bought turned out to be too tight of a fit for our equipment.  This pricey, sleek bag became a source of stress as we tried to jam our notebook, cords and folders within.  Not the end of the world, but for a person like me who really dislikes making bad purchasing decisions, it haunted me.  I found another great bag that would fit all our needs, but felt guilty about the other near-perfect bag I spent cash on and wanted to make sure it went to a good home!  The solution?  Investing 5 minutes of my time with my camera and Ebay, I was able to list and sell my smaller bag to someone who would appreciate it and I made more than a few bucks to help cover the cost of the new bag, too 🙂  You don’t have to be a career Ebay seller to do this.  It’s simple and safe, and Ebay walks you through all the details.  If I can do it – you can do it.  So, next time you run across an item that doesn’t live up to your needs, give it a try!

Here are a few tips:

1. Take a few great pictures, showing the item from multiple items.  Multiple photos cost extra money for your listing, but they give buyers confidence that they know what they are buying.

2. Don’t waste money on a bunch of upgrades.  In my opinion, it doesn’t pay off and it takes more of your precious time.

3. Have an idea of the shipping cost of an item.  Some items are so bulky and heavy the cost won’t be attractive to a buyer and it may end up being hassle for you, too.

4. Give a great description, include dimensions, etc.

5. Be HONEST.  If it’s not new, don’t say it is, and if it has a flaw of any sort, declare it.  Karma, people!!

Leave a Reply

